Launch Laws in Australia

Join the SLC-ANZ for this upcoming seminar where you will get to hear experts and professionals speak about the laws applicable to the launch and return activities in Australia. The session will start with an introduction to Australia's Space (Launches & Returns) Act 2018 presented by Joel Lisk, an Associate at Cowell Clarke and PhD Student researching Australia's approach to space regulation. We will then hear from Scott Schneider, the General Manager - Regulation & Legal at Southern Launch, speak about how Australia's legal regime operates in practice and Southern Launch's experiences to date. There will be time for questions after both presentations.


This Seminar will be hosted by Joann Yap, Deputy Chair of the SLC-ANZ and Senior Associate at Lander & Rogers.

This seminar is supported by Southern Launch.


If you are a legal practitioner in Australia, attendance at this seminar may entitle you to claim units under the Mandatory Continuing Professional Development Scheme. Check with your State or Territory Law Society for more information.


Presenters

Joann Yap (Session Chair)

Joann is a senior associate and corporate lawyer at Lander & Rogers, working across mergers and acquisitions, technology and start-up practices. A keen interest in space law led to the completion of Harvard University's inaugural Space Law and Policy program with particular focus on expanding Australia's space capability sustainably, and examining the debate on the use of nuclear devices in planetary defence against asteroids. Joann also leads Lander & Rogers' space-related initiatives, including the involvement of space tech start-ups and scale-ups in the firm's accelerator program which provides mentorship, business support and educational workshops for participants. Joann is the Deputy Chair of the Space Law Council of Australia and New Zealand


Joel Lisk

Joel is an Associate at Cowell Clarke in Adelaide and a PhD Student exploring Australian and foreign domestic laws applicable to launch and return activities. Joel has presented on issues related to Australian space laws at forums within Australia and overseas and has also written on the topic. Joel is a Director and the Company Secretary of the Space Law Council of Australia and New Zealand.


Scott Schneider

Scott is General Manager of Regulation at Australian-based launch services provider Southern Launch. His team works with regulators and stakeholders to authorise safe technology testing and orbital launch activities from Australia. Scott also coordinates the company’s advocacy initiatives promoting proactive space law and responsible space policy. Scott is a Director of the Space Law Council of Australia and New Zealand.


Timezones

  • 8:00 pm to 9:30 pm NZDT

  • 6:00 pm to 7:30 pm AEDT

  • 5:30 pm to 7:00 pm ACDT

  • 5:00 pm to 6:30 pm AEST

  • 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm ACST

  • 3:00 pm to 4:30 pm AWST

17 views0 comments