top of page

Between the Lines: Peace, War, and Arms Control in Outer Space with Dr Jessica West


The SLC-ANZ is happy to bring you a brand new live seminar with Senior Researcher at Project Ploughshares, Dr Jessica West!


Dr West will discuss peace, war, and arms control in the context of existing law, and where to go from here (drawing on lessons learned).


Project Ploughshares is a peace research institute with a focus on disarmament efforts and international security. Dr West's research focusses on advancing peace and security in outer space through a humanitarian focus on space for all.


Time Zone - 24 May 2023

10:00 am NZST | 8:00 am AEST | 7:30 am ACST | 6:00 am AWST | 10:00pm UTC (23 May 2022)


Recording to be made available to Space Law Council of Australia and New Zealand members following the event.


Dr Jessica West leads research to advance peace and security in outer space through a humanitarian focus on space for all and benefits to people and the planet. As part of this work, she interacts regularly with key United Nations bodies tasked with space security and space safety issues. Related research interests include approaches to peace and disarmament rooted in humanitarian protection and gender perspectives, as well as the impact of new technologies on space security such as cyber connectivity and artificial intelligence. Jessica holds a PhD in global governance from the Balsillie School of International Affairs where her work focused on linkages between resilience, national security, and public health. She currently holds roles as a Research Fellow at the Kindred Credit Union Centre for Peace Advancement, and a Senior Fellow at the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI).

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page