Thu, 25 Mar | Webinar

Into Deep Space and Back Again: A Conversation with Dr Ed Kruzins

Join this SLC-ANZ webinar with Dr Ed Kruzins. Dr Kruzins is the immediate past Director of the Canberra Deep Space Communication Complex (CDSCC) - a facility operated by both the Australian CSIRO and American NASA.
Registration is Closed
Into Deep Space and Back Again: A Conversation with Dr Ed Kruzins

Time & Location

25 Mar 2021, 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm AEDT
Webinar

About the event

Into Deep Space and Back Again: A Conversation with Dr Ed Kruzins

Join the SLC-ANZ for a Conversation with Dr Ed Kruzins, a former Director at the Canberra Deep Space Communications Complex, to discuss his career, the operations of the CDSCC at Tidbinbilla (including its role in deep space missions in accordance with the US/Aus bilateral Space Tracking Treaty), and the major risks associated with the operation of the facility.

We look forward to you joining us at 6:00 pm AEDT on Thursday 25 March 2021 on Zoom.

About Dr Kruzins

Dr Ed Kruzins was the CSIRO Director of NASA Operations and the Canberra Deep Space Communications Complex (CDSCC) between May 2012 and February 2021. In this time, the CDSCC was responsible for space tracking for 40 international space missions including Cassini/Huygens, a range of Mars missions and the Voyager spacecraft.

Over his career, Ed has also held roles in the Australian Department of Defence, the Defence Science and Technology Organisation and BAE. You can read more about Dr Kruzins' career at https://people.csiro.au/K/E/Ed-Kruzins.

Time Zones

This event is taking place over Zoom and is open to all SLC-ANZ members.

This event will take place on 25 March 2021 at the following time:

  • NZDT 8:00 pm
  • AEDT 6:00 pm
  • AEST 5:00 pm
  • ACDT 5:30 pm
  • ACST 4:30 pm
  • AWST 3:00 pm

Share this event